The Connected Cluster came about from a group of educators in Hamilton wishing to work with others for the betterment of the learners with in the region. Hamilton East Primary, Southwell School and Hamilton Junior High School had worked together over seven years as a regional ICTPD contract cluster and all felt the benefit they were experiencing would be of interest to the wider Waikato community. Rototuna Primary School is now part of the Governance group that make up the 5 schools who run the HEDON trust that supports the cluster.